That White Whale

Posted: June 17, 2010 in Internet
Tags: , ,

Ok, so I’ve been seeing that white whale a lot recently on twitter. To be honest, it’s starting to annoy me. However, it made me realize how much I use it and how much I’ve become “obsessed” with it. I’ve only been on twitter for a little while and so many people are on it already. I don’t know how twitter started, but many of us spend so much time online. Don’t get me wrong, the internet is a very helpful and nurturing place even with the negativity that comes with it. We spend so much of our time on YouTube and on these networks that we may forget the simpler things in life. I mean, I myself spend hours online and I feel as though I’m missing out on life. Whenever friends and family visit, I feel liberated and completely freed from the digital world. It’s nice to do things that don’t have anything to do with the internet or computers sometimes.Β  What do you guys think?

Comments
  1. Aelphaeis says:

    Beware! It’s the White Whale of Death! …And also its little orange bird friends…with a fishing net…carrying it? What!? Whoever came up with something like that for an error screen!? LOL πŸ˜›

    Okay, now seriously πŸ˜›

    I really and totally enjoyed reading this. I can relate to every single word. When you say: “I myself spend hours online and I feel as though I’m missing out on life.”, I was like: “Wow!” I mean, it really also made me realize, just as you did, how much time I spend online. I have to say I agree 100% with everything you said here. I also think it’s nice to do things that don’t have anything to do with the Internet or computers sometimes πŸ™‚

    However, I do also agree in that the Internet is indeed a very helpful and nurturing place. I mean, to begin with, we met thanks to it! And I’m really, really thankful for that! ^^ Can you imagine if we both lived in an epoch where there was no Internet whatsoever? Like say, the Middle Ages or something like that. Think about it, if that was the case, even though we both lived in the same time period, probably we would never have met, and THAT would’ve TOTALLY SUCKED 😦 Just thinking about it makes me feel awful, no joke πŸ˜›

    By the way, if you don’t mind me asking, when you say: “…even with the negativity that comes with it.”, what do you mean exactly? Have you had any bad experiences online? Somebody leaving disgusting comments on your videos? Somebody pestering you or something like that? Well, I hope not, but we all know it happens πŸ˜› I’m sorry if you’ve had to go through that, it’s so annoying, some people are just stupid, pay no attention to them. If something like that ever happens, just remember you also have FRIENDS here who faithfully support you at all times no matter what!! πŸ™‚ (Me being one of those friends, of course!! Haha :P)

    • jellybean83 says:

      The internet has connected many people with each other and it’s great that I have talked and met a lot of interesting people including you πŸ™‚ The negativity that I spoke of had to do with other people’s videos actually πŸ˜› I’ve seen so many rude and mean comments on them but also tons more good comments. Also, there are those online predators that take advantage of this wonderful medium.

      And I’m so happy to have your and other people’s support ^^

Leave a Reply

