Gaming

Posted: September 28, 2009 in Games
Tags: , , ,

I’ve been reading a few articles and blogs lately about female gamers, and there was one that I found particularly brilliant. Here is the link to her blog entry: http://4thegirlgamers.blogspot.com/2006/11/whats-wrong-with-female-gaming.html It’s a bit on the long side, but it’s a very interesting entry. I totally agreed with her on all her points. The truth is, we are making it worse for ourselves when we label ourselves as “Girl Gamers”. I admit that I was one of them. I never really announced it or played someone online and told them I was a girl, but I have mentioned it in conversations with friends. This label is not necessary. Calling myself a “Girl Gamer” gives me a disadvantage. Some people have a preconceived notion that girls who play games are soft. Just to add to that, some women parade themselves in skimpy outfits and call themselves “Girl Gamers”. This kind of behavior is not helping anyone and it’s just hurting the chances that female gamers have of fitting into the gaming community. We don’t need to do this. Just play. Just enjoy yourselves.

Comments
  1. Aelphaeis says:

    “Just play. Just enjoy yourselves”. I couldn’t have said it better myself. Totally agree with you on this. After all, that’s what videogames are all about, about having fun, no matter if you’re a girl, or a boy, or whatever, really. Well, at least that’s what I think too :).

  2. posyteen says:

    i agree with u.I like play dress up games online.i think i could enjoy them there.so i often go to play them.i only want to be myself,whatever others to say me.

Leave a Reply

